A Medean’s Curse

Medea

Do you think I forgot,

how I aided you,

when you came to my shore at your lowest,

how you needed your Golden Fleece,

to gain what you lost, a throne destined for ye,

you spoke of that tragedy has plagued you,

I cared little at first,

but I grew,

and I loved you and aided you,

even when it cost me,

a pain unnumbered,

gold upon gold I spent,

assistance and support I gave,

in favor by the gods I went nobly,

yet,

you disregarded me,

you kept your gain,

the credit of ascension taken,

your throne never retaken,

and still,

I stayed,

here and there we went,

in love, I said,

to you, nay,

and when you saw a chance to rise further,

you abandoned me,

my love meant nothing,

our communion forgotten,

a promise broken,

a footnote in your history,

you tried to buy me away,

but I did not forget,

I do not forgive,

may your fever of the bottle return,

may your love’s faithfulness always wane,

may your gains all turn sour eventually,

may you suffer til it crashes upon your head,

fouled and rotted,

just as ye.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *